Deacon Blue8. February 2017

Deacon Blue are proud to announce the release of “Live at The Glasgow Barrowlands” on March 31st on Blu-ray, Limited Edition 2CD/DVD, Double Vinyl and digital on earMUSIC.

Last year saw the band release their most successful album in 23 years with “Believers”, and a fourth single from this record, ‘I Will and I Won’t’ is being released to coincide. “Live at The Glasgow Barrowlands” was recorded on the last night of the “Believers” Tour at this iconic venue on the 4th December 2016. The show marked an emotional return to the venue where Deacon Blue had last played in 1994, and the performance captured here is one of their finest. 

The recording features the band play their best loved songs from their million selling classic debut album “Raintown” which this year celebrates its 30th anniversary, all the way to their acclaimed latest release, “Believers”.

Ricky Ross says: “This was always going to be an emotional night for the band, The Barrowlands is a special place with a lot of memories for us, and this show came right at the end of the tour. The atmosphere was incredible; you could feel it start to build from the moment the crowd came in. It made for a great show, and I think you get to hear and see some of that on this release.”

This unforgettable performance recording of over 2 and quarter hours of music is their first official live release in 10 years and the band’s first ever on DVD & Blu-ray. 

For Ross and his fellow travellers in Deacon Blue – Lorraine McIntosh (vocals), James Prime (keyboards), Dougie Vipond (drums, vocals) Gregor Philp (guitar, vocals) and Lewis Gordon (bass), the band continues to celebrate a legacy of platinum-selling success from the 1980s and 1990s. In recent years, they have hit a sweet spot with a creative process that has helped them grow, once again, into a major contemporary act whose new records are playlisted on BBC Radio 2 and elsewhere on UK radio, and who play huge venues as disparate as Glasgow SSE Hydro Arena, Liverpool Arena and Edinburgh Castle. Their worldwide sales are now more than seven million albums – including 2 number 1 albums, five albums in the UK Top Five and 17 singles in the UK Top 40.

“Raintown” the band’s hugely successful debut album, was followed by a string of hit albums that lit up the album charts of the late 80s and early 90s.
“When the World Knows Your Name” [1989], “Fellow Hoodlums” [1991], “Whatever You Say, Say Nothing“[1993] and a double-platinum compilation “Our Town – The Greatest Hits” [1994] which included ‘Real Gone Kid’, ‘Fergus Sings the Blues’, ‘Dignity’, ‘Wages Day’, ‘Twist and Shout’ and many others.

Then the group split up for five years. While Ross built up his career as a songwriter and solo act, he and the other band members set about establishing themselves with remarkable success in various other fields of the media, the arts and academia. But as their lives unfolded, they never gave up on the Deacon Blue dream. Their reformation in 2012 and the 3 albums that followed culminating in “Believers” have given the band a remarkable return to the UK album charts.


1. Come Awake
2. Gone
3. Your Town 
4. Bethlehem Begins 
5. Raintown 
6. Chocolate Girl 
7. The Outsiders
8. Your Swaying Arms 
9. This Is A Love Song 
10. Real Gone Kid 
11. The Believers 
12. Cover From The Sky 
13. Birds
14. Town To Be Blamed 
15. Delivery Man 
16. The Hipsters 
17. Loaded 
18. Wages Day 
19. Fergus Sings The Blues 
20. That’s What We Can Do 
21. I Will And I Won’t 
22. When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)?
23. I’ll Never Fall In Love Again 
24. Dignity 
25. Twist And Shout 
26. Queen Of The New Year
27. Forever Young 

DVD specs: 
Concert: approx. 135 min. / Screen Format: NTSC 16:9 / Audio: PCM Stereo, DTS 5.1 / Region Code: Free / Disc Format: DVD-9 

Blu-ray specs:
Concert: approx. 135 min. / Bonus: approx. 50 min. / Screen Format: 1080i/30, 16:9 / Audio: PCM Stereo (96 KHz/24 Bit), DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (96 KHz/24 Bit) / Region Code: A, B, C / Disc Format: BD-50

Exclusive Blu-ray bonus:
-    Videoclip The Believers 
-    Videoclip This Is A Love Song
-    Videoclip Gone (Live In Newcastle) 


Ricky Ross has personally handpicked the tracks for the vinyl release which are his highlights from the show.
Format: 12” Vinyl

Side 1
1. Your Town
2. Bethlehem Begins
3. Raintown
4. Chocolate Girl
5. Your Swaying Arms
Side 2
1. This Is a Love Song
2. Real Gone Kid
3. The Believers
4. Cover From The Sky
5. Delivery Man

Side 3
1. The Hipsters
2. Loaded
3. Wages Day
4. Fergus Sings The Blues
5. That’s What We Can Do

Side 4
1. I Will and I Won’t
2. I’ll Never Fall In Love Again
3. Dignity
4. Twist and Shout
5. Forever Young